Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

Before your child starts school in Reception, we liaise closely with Busy Bodies Pre-School staff and other early years providers to gain an overview of your child’s learning and progress to date. Throughout your child’s Reception year, we provide a wealth of child initated and directed learning opportunities that will support your child's progress towards the Early Learning Goals.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our Early Years Foundation Stage provision. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language;

• physical development;

• personal, social and emotional development.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

• literacy

• mathematics 

• understanding the world;

• expressive arts and design.

Files to Download

Contact the School

Melling St Wilfrid CE Primary School

Lodge Lane

Main Contact: Mrs. Rebecca Mason

Tel: 015242 21538